Soundpeats Trueair 2 Review

Tech Specifications

  • Bluetooth V5.2
  • Qualcomm 3040
  • 4 Mics and cVc Noise Cancellation
  • aptX Codec
  • Semi-in-Ear Design
  • 25 Hours Playtime
  • TrueWireless Mirroring
  • 14.2mm bio-compound diaphragm driver
  • Touch Control

Initial Impressions

I purchased my set from soundpeats offical store on Amazon, item arrived the following day and was well packaged. The box contains the earphones, charging case and a usb c cable. Items was well packaged and feels quite premium. Earphones was easy to pair with my lg g8x android phone running android 10.

Sound Quality

Before I go ahead and give my thoughts, i just want to provide a bit of background on my taste in audio and what the sound signatures I prefer and look for in audio gear. The music I listen to is predominantly anything pre 90s. 70s/80s rock/hard rock, 80s/90s heavy metal. 80s/90s electronic. When I review audio gear the following sound signatures I specifically look for:

  • sound stage (wide, spacious and airiness)
  • instrument separation
  • midrange (forward and natural)
  • treble (neutral and relaxed)
  • mid bass (tight and not bloated/boomy and neutral)
  • sub bass (tight and neutral)

Keep in mind everyone’s hearing and tastes are different, like judging a good wine or whiskey what you may deemed excellent may be average to another person. So therefore keep in mind my preferences stated above when reading this review.

Soundstage – These earphones are an open semi in ear design which gives them a big advantage with the soundstage. The soundstage does not disappoint. These has to have the widest sound stage of all the TWS earphones I have tested. These will beat any IEM in sound stage wired or wireless.

Instrument separation – There is some slight instrument separation but due to the laid back nature of how the treble is tuned the instruments don’t really shine through which earphones with wide soundstages tend to do.

Midrange – the midrange is quite neutral. Male and female vocals are there but is not very pronounced. It is non fatiguing when listened to for long sessions.

Treble – slightly recessed, high frequency roll off. Very relaxing sound signature and is easy on the ears during long listening sessions.

Mid bass – very tight and neutral on music that does not have a lot of bass, when listening to electronic music the bass livens up and the vol is plenty and is quite punchy. Big fan of the mid bass

Sub bass – pretty much non existent which is not surprising, unfortunately with the design of these you will not be able to get sub bass. For fans of big sub bass stick with IEM’s

Build Quality, Battery Life and Comfort

Build – the quality is excellent, the plastic is slightly textured and is easy to grab. Dirt, dust, fingerprints does not easily stick or mark the earphones or case

Battery life – Excellent battery life, easily getting over 4 hours before they need to be put back into the case for a charge

Comfort – very comfortable, I have medium size ears so these fit on the tighter side without any foam pads. I think if I use foam pads they will not fit in my ear holes. Longest listening session I have used them for is around 4 hours non-stop and they did not cause any discomfort.

Final Verdict

I think these are some of the best wireless earphones you can buy right now, the sound engineers at soundpeats definitely know what they are doing. They have produced a well balanced set of earphones that is not overwhelming tuned with bloated bass like 99% of the earphones/headphones being produced these days. It is nice to see a brand focusing on a natural neutral sound and letting the music shine through. Kudos to soundpeats. I give it a 9/10.

Leave a comment